Flores is one of the nineteen departments that make up Uruguay. Its capital is Trinidad. Located in the southwest of the country, bordered to the north by the Río Negro which separates it from the department of Río Negro, to the east by Durazno and Florida, to the south by San José, to the southwest by Colonia and to the west by Soriano.

The name Flores is a tribute to Brigadier Venancio Flores, who played a very important military and political role in the 1840s, 1850s and 1860s and who was originally from the same department.