San José

San José is one of Uruguay’s nineteen departments. Its capital is San José de Mayo. Located in the southwest of the country, bordered to the north by Flores, to the east by Florida, Canelones and Montevideo, to the south by the Rio de la Plata which separates it from Argentina, to the west by Colonia and to the northwest by Soriano. The southern area is part of the Montevideo metropolitan area, as this area is occupied by the expansion of urban sprawl in Greater Montevideo.